Mühldorf on the Inn

The history of Mühldorf am Inn stretches back over 1100 years. The Pflegschloss (originally, this was a building where carers/keepers resided) building, the granary houses, and other curiosities such as the "Witch`s House" of 1750 and the Lodronhaus museum bear witness to an eventful past. Up until 1802, Mühldorf am Inn was an enclave of the Prince-Archbishopric of Salzburg. "Bavarian folk with Salzburg charm", this description still applies to the current inhabitants of Mühldorf and has come to define the local way of life, which offers visitors plenty of variety all year round with folk and old town festivals, carnival parades and music festivals.

The elongated town square built in the style typical of the Inn-Salzach region is among the most beautiful in Upper Bavaria. The best view of the old-town`s flamboyant façades can be had from Stadtberg: four towers, belonging to the three churches in the old town and the Munich Gate encompass the old trading town. The Munich Gate, also known as the Nagelschmiedturm, is the northern entrance to the heart of the town and best preserved remnant of the former town fortifications. The tower`s impressive height certainly lends it a very defensible character.

Since 1872 the ferry service has been operated in Mühldorf am Inn. As one of the Inn`s last cable ferries it does not require a motor; the boat can moved across the river using the rudder.

Innradweg Innfaehre Muehldorf Radler Inn Salzach Tourismus Adrian Greiter


Tourismus- und Kulturamt der Kreisstadt Mühldorf a. Inn.
Stadtplatz 3
D-84453 Mühldorf a. Inn
Web: https://www.muehldorf.de/
Phone: +49 (0) 8631 612-612

This site uses cookies

this site uses its own cookies to personalise content and analyse browsing behaviour.
More about cookies